Kick It Out

Ahem… a bit of absence here, but onward!!!

Shorty is about to get chomped.

There has been a ton of new comics, movies and music keeping me busy in 2012 so far. Most recently it’s been John Carter, Thrice and Mutemath (always with Alter Bridge) and on the comic front, “Skullkickers”.

In fact, I want to spend a moment plugging this fantastic comic created by @JimZub and crew. They have been making this so-far-ongoing series for a couple of years now, and have built a great fan base through their print distribution. Last month on the Comics Experience Creators Workshop we had a fantasy inspired writing theme, and some script pages for the artists to try their hand at. Recently though, they have begun placing page after page of content online for FREE on Keenspot. I hadn’t heard of this website until some of the comic media reported SK was online, but man, it’s amazing.

I’ve been following a few web comics (notably Bearmaggedon and Axe Cop by The Eef, Ethan Nicolle) and love reading them on my laptop, but more often my iPad. I read the free #0 of Skullkickers on my iPad through Comixology and was hooked, but it didn’t reach my buying habits in print, mainly cause they’re pretty limited to Transformers comics. Through Keenspot I’ve been able to start catching up on this fantasy series filled with humour, bloody axe attacks and a mysterious duo that are quite effective at catching or eviscerating monsters.

It’s quite inspiring – both from a storytelling viewpoint and a fantasy reader one.

 

And now the awesome part:

A pretty massive, open invitation to compete to create a Skullkickers story. I’ve had my story skeleton running around in my head ever since I saw this posted a couple of weeks ago. And now I’ve gotta crunch out a finished pitch. It will be great just to send it in. I won’t be expecting anything, cause I’m sure there will be a HUGE number of contestants of a good-to-high quality. But once it’s over and announced, I’ll post my pitch here on my script samples page (coming soon).

 

So go check out Skullkickers! If you like any type of fantasy or buddy-cop genres, and don’t mind a bit of comic-blood or groin kicks then you’ll love it!

 

Cheers, Luke

Leave a Reply

