Supanova Friday

Problems can cause us to make excuses for a failure.

Or – we can USE problems to make excuses for Creativity.

Tonight was the opening night of Supanova and a couple of hundred people came to enjoy a few different guest sessions, an anime viewing (I think) and a charity auction (raised over $1000, was held by Richard Horvitz, the voice of Invader Zim – he sounded insane from where we were!). the very special part of this night were the comics masterclass sessions by Scott Kurtz & Kris Straub, and then Brian Michael Bendis.

I was there for Bendis. He is a prolific comic creator and has had much success with both his own creator-owned properties (like Powers and many others) and writing Ultimate Spider-Man and many Avengers comics. He is also on the Marvel Movie Committee (the brains trust) and is working on some various TV/Animation projects.

I could go on for ages about why I love his work, but long story short it has always been his work on Ultimate Spiderman that has had me hooked. It is brilliant.

Tonight was a chance to let the guests chat about the craft of making comics and take questions from the attendees. I had my Emery “We Do What We Want” little black notebook easy to take notes and I was excited to learn some new ideas and be re-invigorated from the wisdom that guys like Bendis have because they’ve been doing it for a long time.

Before I crash to sleep one particular comment from Bendis stood out. He was talking about the comic writing classes he runs and when students come in to tell him about their problems getting a project finished and said that people can let their problems be excuses for their failures.
Zing.
Man, have I been letting that happen. I think I’ve moaned to Melissa about time, tiredness and work so much in the past few months when it’s been my own lack of drive, focus or discipline that has gotten in the way.

Instead, he said that these problems can become excuses for creativity. Bendis mentioned the anecdote from Sir Ridley Scott about his work on Blade Runner. That it was a film he made with the least money, so he had to work on the script the hardest he possibly could (I’m trying to remember this part accurately).

I’ve had opportunities to write in the past term. I haven’t talent them and lost that time. It’s a lesson learned and I’m going to try to put some things in place for me to use the opportunities I have to write a ton of stuff in the next 3 months. It’s the only way I’m going to get better!

So, tomorrow is Saturday and there are lots of things to do. I’ll post some photos probably and will try to pick up some cool bits and pieces.

G’night, Melbourne

Leave a Reply

